Whenever I begin a new chapter in my life, I like to spend a little time seeking guidance so I know what I should expect. For my 23rd birthday, I decided to consult music to ready myself for the coming year I’m going to spend as a 23 year old. The results were… demoralizing.

“I’m twenty two for a moment.”
100 Years – Five for Fighting

Well, yeah. That’s kind of the point. My moment is over. I’m not 22 anymore… Next.

“When she was 22 the future looked bright…”
22 – Lily Allen

Oh, okay, well that’s depressing. I guess it really is all downhill from 22…

“The sound is so cute when you’re 22…”
When Yer Twenty Two – Flaming Lips

What does that even mean? AND I’M NOT 22 ANYMORE!

“I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22.”
22 – Taylor Swift

WHAT? NO!!!!!! Actually, for your information Taylor, no, I’m not feeling 22. I’m feeling 23 and under-represented in song.


“I’ll be 23,

I won’t always love what I’ll never have,

I won’t always live in my regrets”
23 – Jimmy Eat World

…Really? I stopped relying on Jimmy Eat World for musical life advice when I graduated from eighth grade.

“Twenty-three and it’s so sad to me,

You tell the world I’m dead to you,

  But I know you want me back now”
Twenty Three – Yellowcard

O-kay. Is there anything about being 23 that isn’t depressing and forlorn?

“A twenty three on the verge of spontaneous combustion. Woe-is-me.”
Pardon Me – Incubus

Alright, already. I get it. Being 23 is awful, and I really should have appreciated being 22 a lot more than I did…

“Nobody likes you when you’re twenty three.”
What’s My Age Again? – Blink 182

…Isn’t that the icing on the twenty-three candled birthday cake?

Happy Birthday to me—23 isn’t looking too promising according to music. Next time I’m asking Google for a second opinion.

Habitat for Humanity? What? This isn't even the cake I ordered.Piece-A-Cake.Com
…Habitat for Humanity? What? This isn’t even the cake I ordered. 23 blows. Excuse me while I drown my sorrows on tools made out of modeling chocolate. 
Image source: Piece-A-Cake.Com

65 thoughts on “23 Candles

  1. First and foremost, HAPPY FLIMSY 23RD BIRTHDAY!

    Btw , that’s a cool piece of cake. Cept you hadn’t even meant for it to happen, so it’s a bit questionable.

    I’ve got to give you props to go through all the trouble to songs in direct insult to the year 23. I suppose I should really put an effort and make my sisters coming 22nd to be less brilliant as it obviously will not be the following year. Cheers to learning in good faith.

  2. When I was 23, I got married, moved into a house, started grad school, and got a dog. It doesn’t suck for everyone! (Although now, with the wisdom of 26, I wish I hadn’t moved into the house, gone to grad school or gotten a dog. Still okay with the husband, miraculously. I guess what I’m saying is it won’t be all bad, but maybe don’t make any huge moves this year…)

  3. Wow, I hadn’t realized there were so many depressing songs about being 23. I’ve still got half a year left of being 22…I’d better enjoy it. Happy birthday, Katie!

  4. At least you can use Blink-182 as an excuse to be a jerk for the next year? AND, nobody can compare you to Taylor Swift — bonus points 🙂 Happy birthday, Katie!

  5. I enjoyed the heck out of my 20’s…of course I’m still enjoying these last few weeks of being in my 30’s, too. I never take birthday advice from music…Unless you’re 16, it can make you feel a bit crazy…plus, they don’t even write music for certain ages (And I have no idea how to interpret THAT).

  6. Jeeze, I never realized there were so many songs about being 22 in the first place. Guess I should savor the next 4 months before the “dreaded” 23 strikes me too haha 😉

    Happy Birthday! And have a wonderful day! *throws confetti*

  7. Don’t forget Millencolin: “At 23, I was far from feeling free.”

    From the song Right About Now.

    Yeah, songs hate the age, and sadly I barely remember 23. No not because I was having a blast partying, but because it was pretty unremarkable all round. 25 was pretty great and 26 has been awesome so there’s something to look forward to!

    Anyway I trust you to break the mold Katie 🙂 Happy birthday!

    Rohan.

    1. Another one with bad news!

      I think 25 is going to be a hard one for me–that’s really the next milestone age before the doom that comes with 30.

      I’m going to do my best and thanks!

  8. Happy 23rd birthday lovely! I thought I would have my shit together at 23 – I’m 29 and still don’t hahaha! 23 was actually pretty rad for me – hope it is for you too

  9. HBD! I can’t believe you’re only 23- you seem so much more mature in your writing! (Not looks wise of course, you are glowing and youthful and will be perpetually 19 so never worry about that 😉

  10. I had no idea there were so many song lyrics about being 22 and 23. Who knew? If it’s any help, I had a good time when I was 23. It was a particularly good year. So was 24, come to think of it. Happy belated birthday, Katie!!

  11. Happy birthday! I’m not sure how good a second opinion from google might turn out, but you could always just write your own song about how amazing 23 is going to be!

Don't you sass me! ...Actually, please do.

